Rodrigo Faina is a composer and bandleader whose music often transcends conventional and outdated genre distinctions. An alchemist, able to blend the techniques of new music and the traditions of jazz, tango and other popular genres into a lush, progressive and evocative sound-world distinctively of his own.

The unpredictable and adventurous nature of his musical output places him in a particular position within the contemporary music landscape, and has earned him the respect and admiration of the international music scene’s key figures, but at the same time, brings him in conflict with both: the avant-garde and conceptualist classical composers.

Rodrigo’s music draws inspiration from literature, social inequality and abstract images, and his aim is to develop and renew musical heritage and traditions without losing the connection with the emotional, expressive and spiritual aspects of music.

Rodrigo’s music has been performed in prestigious venues such as the Kölner Philharmonie, WDR Funkhaus Köln, De Doelen and Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ.

He has collaborated with renowned ensembles, soloists and conductors from Europe and the United States, such as Asko|Schönberg Ensemble, DoelenEnsemble, Metropole Orchestra, Zapp4, Nederlands Blazers Ensemble, David Kweksilber Big Band, Bulgaria National Radio Symphony, Platypus Ensemble, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Vince Mendoza, Etienne Siebens, Bas Wiegers and Claron McFadden among others.

Rodrigo studied musical composition with Paul van Brugge and Klaas de Vries at the Rotterdam Conservatory, where he obtained his Bachelor and Master’s degrees with honours. During his composition studies at the Rotterdam Conservatory, Rodrigo also attended classes with Robin de Raaff, Luc Brewaeys, Peter Jan Wageman, Rene Uijlenhoet and Patrick van Deurzen.

Besides his formal academic training, Rodrigo also participated in masterclasses with, among others, Steve Reich, Maria Schneider, Samuel Adler, Kris Defoort, John Scofield, John Abercrombie and Jack DeJohnette.

Rodrigo has been awarded grants by the FPK (Performing Arts Fund, Netherlands), the HSP Huygens prize for excellence and the Dutch Ministry of Education.